Friday, August 17, 2007


Happy Birthday(s)!

Happy Birthday to Robert Josem, our Parish Council Chairman and to Alina ak Bauk, our clerk! Robert turns 56 and Alina is 35 this year! God bless you both!
We celebrated their birthdays during lunch on Thursday, 16th August 2007 at St Ann's parish dining room.

Confirmation Seminar

KOTA PADAWAN-The first of two Confirmation Seminars was held at the chapel of St Francis Xavier, Kampung Seratau, Kuching-Serian Road on Saturday, 11th August 2007, the feast of St Clare. Approximately 380 candidates, 50 sponsors, 5 catechists, 1 friar and a host of helpers were present.

SK St Justin celebrates Mass for Students

On Tuesday, 7th August 2007, Fr Goh and John Harry Dan made their way to SK St Justin, Pesang Begu to celebrate Mass for the students who are sitting for their UPSR exams in September. Mass began at 3.00 pm, finished at 4.00pm. Parents and students were treated to a potluck dinner thereafter.

Saturday, August 04, 2007

Preview of Feastday Photos

KOTA PADAWAN-The 39th annual feastday celebrations of St Ann's Parish were carried out with great success this year. We are publishing some photos here...more to come in the next week.

Fr Moses turns 40

KOTA PADAWAN-One day in advance of his birthday on 14th July 2007, the parish gathered for a special lunch and cake cutting ceremony for Fr Moses Yap OFM. Fr Moses hails from Seremban, and with virtually no Bahasa Malaysia background, has taught himself to converse and preach in relatively good Bahasa Malaysia and Biatah!

Catholics in Semeru elect new Chairman

KOTA PADAWAN-On 10th July, the Catholic community of St Teresa of Avila, Kampung Semeru elected retired catechist Gerald Ganyat to replace Jonathan as KGK Chairman. Gerald, who served as full-time catechist at St Ann in the 1980s and early 1990s, as well as part time catechist in Serian for the last 10 years, retired to his home in Kampung Semeru this year. Also elected is Albert ak Gerald Ganyat as secretary. In attendance at the proceedings were Fr Joseph Goh OFM and Robert Josem, the parish council chairman.